Tuesday, 24 January 2012

Must Have Guitar Albums - Extreme - III Sides To Every Story

Released in 1992 a concept album 'yours mine and the truth'
Not the commercial success it should have been and voted worst album cover of all time.
Nuno Bettencourt though is on top form showcasing he is one of the finest rock metal guitarists in the world.

Track list:

  1. Warheads
  2. Rest In Peace
  3. Politicalamity
  4. Color Me Blind
  5. Cupid's Dead
  6. Peacemaker Die
  7. Seven Sundays
  8. Tragic Comic
  9. Our Father
  10. Stop The World
  11. God Isn't Dead?
  12. Everything Under The Sun: I. Rise 'N Shine
  13. Everything Under The Sun: II. Am I Ever Gonna Change
  14. Everything Under The Sun: III. Who Cares?

south shields guitar lessons www.rock-licks.com

Must Have Guitar Albums - Pink Floyd - The Wall

Released in 1979 and inspiring the 1982 film of the same name.
Mostly from bassist Roger Waters the album is a look at feelings of abandonment isolation and the harshness of education.

CD 1:CD 2:
1. In The Flesh?1. Hey You
2. The Thin Ice2. Is There Anybody Out There?
3. Another Brick In The Wall, Part 13. Nobody Home
4. The Happiest Days Of Our Lives4. Vera
5. Another Brick In The Wall, Part 25. Bring The Boys Back Home
6. Mother6. Comfortably Numb
7. Goodbye Blue Sky7. The Show Must Go On
8. Empty Spaces8. In The Flesh
9. Young Lust9. Run Like Hell
10. One Of My Turns10. Waiting For The Worms
11. Don't Leave Me Now11. Stop
12. Another Brick In The Wall, Part 312. The Trial
13. Goodbye Cruel World13. Outside The Wall

south shields guitar lessons www.rock-licks.com

Must Have Guitar Albums - Pink Floyd - Wish You Here

How do you follow an album like Dark Side of the Moon. By releasing an album as good as this. Wish You Were Here was released in 1975 and explores the themes of the music industry and former band mate Syd Barretts mental decline.

Track List
Shine On You Crazy Diamond parts 1-5
Welcome To The Machine 
Have A Cigar
Wish You Were Here
Shine On You Crazy Diamond parts 6-9

south shields guitar lessons www.rock-licks.com

Must Have Guitar Albums - Nick Drake - Pink Moon

Nick Drake's third and final album released in 1971 the original tortured artist at his finest.
A must have album for all acoustic singer songwriters. Just singer vocals and a touch of piano.
Badley Drawn Boy and Paul Weller are just a few artists who give credit to Drake as a major influence

All songs written and played by Nick Drake.
Side one
  1. "Pink Moon" – 2:06
  2. "Place to Be" – 2:43
  3. "Road" – 2:02
  4. "Which Will" – 2:58
  5. "Horn" – 1:23
  6. "Things Behind the Sun" – 3:57
Side two
  1. "Know" – 2:26
  2. "Parasite" – 3:36
  3. "Free Ride" – 3:06
  4. "Harvest Breed" – 1:37
  5. "From the Morning" – 2:30

www.rock-licks.com south shields guitar tuition and lessons

Must Have Guitar Albums - Neil Young - Harvest

Released in 1972 and has a host of guests including David Crosby Graham Nash Stephen Stills Linda Ronstandt and James Taylor.
Includes hits Heart of Gold and Old Man

All tracks written by Neil Young.
Side one
  1. "Out on the Weekend" – 4:34
  2. "Harvest" – 3:11
  3. "A Man Needs a Maid" – 4:05
  4. "Heart of Gold" – 3:07
  5. "Are You Ready for the Country?" – 3:23
Side two
  1. "Old Man" – 3:24
  2. "There's a World" – 2:59
  3. "Alabama" – 4:02
  4. "The Needle and the Damage Done" – 2:03 (recorded in concert January 30, 1971)
  5. "Words (Between the Lines of Age)" – 6:40

south shields guitar lessons www.rock-licks.com

Must Have Guitar Albums - Neil Young - After The Gold Rush

Released in 1970 Neil Young founding member of Buffalo Springfield and one part of Crosby Stills Nash and Young After The Gold Rush was mainly a folk album with the rocking song Southern Man refered to in Lynyrd Skynyrds Sweet Home Alabama.
This album is now considered a masterpiece and rated highly in all time album charts.
Also Nils Lofgren of Bruce Springsteen fame is on guitar

All songs written by Neil Young except when noted
Side one
  1. "Tell Me Why" — 2:54
  2. "After the Gold Rush" — 3:45
  3. "Only Love Can Break Your Heart" — 3:05
  4. "Southern Man" — 5:31
  5. "Till the Morning Comes" — 1:17
Side two
  1. "Oh Lonesome Me" (Don Gibson) — 3:47
  2. "Don't Let It Bring You Down" — 2:56
  3. "Birds" — 2:34
  4. "When You Dance I Can Really Love" — 4:05
  5. "I Believe in You" — 3:24
  6. "Cripple Creek Ferry" — 1:34

guitar lessons in south shields www.rock-licks.com